Spark Juries

Every year Spark is honored to present a fresh group of very talented judges. Each bench of jurors is gathered with the help of our Jury Chairs, Advisors and Community members. The Jurors come from across the spectrum of design disciplines, media, educators and experts.  Each Jury has teams of experts who specialize in specific disciplines and act as reference guides for the larger multi-disciplinary unit.

2016 Team In Action

The Jurors become Spark advisors as the judging sessions roll on, concluding each day with a robust and useful discussion of the Spark jury process and Spark in general. We’ve also been blessed with several “Jury Mentors” who take especial interest in exploring and establishing best practices for the jury process or and/or a particular category. They include Tania Aldous, VP Design at Corelle and a great friend of Spark and Jury Mentor,  Mike Nuttall, Co-Founder, IDEO

Here’s the Bench so far. Stay tuned for more!

2019 Spark Spring Semester Student Jury (June in San Francisco)

Mary, Jochen, Willy, PK, Fariba, Lisa, Irina, Nichole, Mathias, Sally & Earl

Irina Kozlovskaya, Director, Industrial Design, Fitbit (Product)
Earl Gee, Partner, Gee + Chung Design (Graphics)
Lisa Sullivan, Principal, L.Sullivan Design & Communications (Spaces)
Mathias Hintermann, Industrial Designer, Snap Inc. (Product)
Mary Katica, Program Director, (Health)
Willy Carteau, Senior Industrial Designer, Google (Product)
Fariba Marnani, Industrial Designer, Eichleay, Inc
Nichole Rouillac, Founding Partner, level design sf (Product)
Jochen Backs, Principal, Studio Backs (Product)
Sally Darby, Senior Strategist, Frog design (Spaces)

2019 Spark Juries (November 18 in San Francisco)

Including: Product, Graphics, Experience, Health, Digital & Transport
Mike Nuttall, Co-Founder, IDEO (Jury Mentor)
Claude Zellweger, Director of Design, Google (Experience),
Sam Lucente, Principal, Lucente Design (Product)
Antonio Borja, Director, Industrial Design, Academy of Art University (Transport)
Kate Freebairn, Director of UX, Google Nest (Product)
Eric Chan, President & Founder,  Ecco Design (Product)
Hugo Eccles, Creative Director, Special Projects Office (Product)
Ryan Jongwoo Choi, Industrial Designer, McLaren Applied Technology (Transport)
Colin Owen, Design Director, Elroy Air (Product)
Jochen Backs, Principal, Studio Backs (Product)
Emida Natalaray, Director, School of Technology for the Arts, Republic Polytechnic (Digital)
Julien Rouillac, Principal Industrial Designer, Innovation Design Lab., 3D SYSTEMS (Product)
Peter Bristol, Head of Industrial Design, Facebook VR/AR/Portal (Product)
Norio Fujikawa, Executive Creative Director, ASTRO Studios (Product)
Claudio Ribeiro, Chief Experience Designer, VSN Mobil (Experience)
Arin Bhowmick, VP & Chief Design Officer, IBM Cloud, Data and AI Practice (Digital)
Steven R. Umbach, Principal, Umbach Consulting Group (Experience)
Robert Hubler, Senior Industrial Designer, Intuitive (Health)

2019 Spark Juries (December in Hong Kong)
Including: Student Design, Fall Semester and Spaces  (Architecture & Interior Design)
Fabienne Munch, Executive Director Global Initiatives & Strategy, The University of Chicago
Cheol Woo Park, Chief Design Officer, Royole Corporation
Matio Conti, Senior ID Manager, Motorola Mobility
Ryan Jongwoo Choi, Industrial Designer, McLaren Applied Technology
Tang Chen-Chuan, Director, Tang Designs
Edmund Ng, VP & Co-Founder, KONCEPT Lighting
Ame Engelhart, Director, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
David B. Frank, Senior Associate & Design Director, Gensler
Elena Raho, Founder & CEO, HERE CREATE

(Other Jurors TBA or confirmed)

Poul Henningsen’s Artichoke Lamp, courtesy DWR