Product Jury


Spark is honored to present a jury of very talented judges for our 10th competition. Every year the jury is new, gathered with the help of our Jury Chairs, Advisers and Community members. The Jurors come from across the spectrum of design disciplines, media, educators and experts.

The 2016 Spark Product Jury will apply the Spark Mission and Criteria and bring the highest standards to the task of selecting Spark’s Finalists and Winners.

We are honored to announce that a founding partner of IDEO, Mike Nuttall, has agreed to be this year’s Jury Chair.

Jury Chair, Mike Nuttall, IDEO Founder
Philip Thompson, VP Design, Newell Rubbermaid
Manuel Saez, Principal, Brooklyness
Derek Chen, Founder & Principal, Council, Inc.
Bret Recor, Principal, Box Clever
Benjamin Chia, Chief Designer, elemental8
Karson Shadley, Creative Director, Astro Studios
Son Sun, Industrial Designer, Samsung Design America
Ric Gomes, Professor, Design Center for Global Needs, San Francisco State University
Richard Yelle, Industrial Design Chair, University of Bridgeport SASD (Shintaru Akatsu School of Design).