Andrea Ruggiero, Principal, Andrea Ruggiero Design & Adjunct Prof., Parsons New School For Design; Spark Juror 2012

Who are you, professionally speaking?
I am a New York-based product designer with a multidisciplinary approach; I am also Adjunct Assistant Professor at Parsons, where I teach in the Product Design program.

How did you choose your design discipline?
I was interested in Product Design, but I wasn’t really sure until I studied it. I suppose I have always been interested in objects more than spaces, so it was only natural that I would gravitate towards Product Design.

What are some elements that make your designs distinctive?
I think that’s for others to say, but typically my work is idea-driven: I strive to be inventive and innovative. I am not interested in just designing beautiful objects.

Is your work international, or regionally focused?
My work is internationally oriented, with most of my clients based in Europe or North America. Who I work with is more important than where they are located.

What is your ideal project or commission?
Working with enlightened, environmentally-responsible and design-oriented manufacturers or entrepreneurs.

Who are your top 3 favorite designers?
That’s difficult as many designers have designed great projects, but few have produced a consistently excellent body of work. I would have to say Joe Colombo, Massimo Vignelli, and Josef Hoffman. Colombo was a brilliant designer, a visionary, and a truly innovative designer. Massimo Vignelli — whom I had the fortune of working with — and Josef Hoffmann are both multidisciplinary masters whose work is enduring.

What are you currently reading?
I just finished reading A Time of Gifts, by Patrick Leigh Fermor. A brilliant account of his walking journey through Europe in the late 30’s; fascinating.

What advise can you offer to a new graduate?