2018 Juries

Poul Henningsen’s Artichoke Lamp, courtesy DWR


Every year Spark is honored to present a fresh group of very talented judges. Each bench of jurors is gathered with the help of our Jury Chairs, Advisors and Community members. The Jurors come from across the spectrum of design disciplines, media, educators and experts.  (Click on a Juror’s name below for background information.) Each Jury has teams of experts who specialize in specific disciplines and act as reference guides for the larger multi-disciplinary unit.

The Jurors become Spark advisors as the judging sessions roll on, concluding each day with a robust and useful discussion of the Spark jury process and Spark in general. We’ve also been blessed with several “Jury Mentors” who take especial interest in exploring and establishing best practices for the jury process or and/or a particular category. They include Kit Hinrichs, Principal at Studio Hinrichs, Clark Kellogg, UC Berkeley/Haas, Tania Aldous, VP Design at Corelle, Amy Williams, recent head of Fashion Design at CCA (and founding advisor of Spark WEAR) and a great friend of Spark and Jury Mentor,  Mike Nuttall, Co-Founder, IDEO

SPRING JURIES (Now concluded)

Concept  and Product Design Team

Mentor: Mike Nuttall, Co-Founder, IDEO
John Guenther, Former Global Design Director, Hewlett-Packard
Klaus Tritschler, Consultant, E-Mobility and VTOL Aircraft
Harnish Jani, Strategic Design Director, BCG Digital Ventures
Mike Derocher, Director, 3D Print Experience Design, HP
Tom White, Impact Director, LACI
Scot Herbst, Design Director, Herbst Produkt
Sasha Tseng, Principal, sashapure
Britt Ashcraft, Design Director, Ashcraft Design


Product Design Team
Mentor: Mike Nuttall, Co-Founder, IDEO
Greg Janky, Partner, Anvil Studios
Kyle Swen, VP Partner, Astro Studios
Sung Bai, Head of Industrial Design, Nest
Tom Illick, Director of Business Development, 219 Design
Morris Koo, Principal Industrial Designer, HP Advanced Design & Strategy
Jeff Smith, Co-Founder, LUNAR

Health & Medical Design Team
Steve Christopher, Principal, ID & Human Factors, Johnson & Johnson

Spaces Design Team
David Meckel, Director of Research & Planning, California College of the Arts
Jeff Henry, Principal, Gensler
J. Hulett Jones, Founder, jones | haydu

Engineering Innovation & Design Team
Mark Sarkisian, Structural and Seismic Engineering Partner, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
Larry Miller, Founding Partner, 219 Design

Civic Innovation & Design Team
Dr. Alexandra Jayeun Lee, Creative Director, Civic Design Lab, City of Oakland
Marc Hebert, Director, Innovation Office, San Francisco Human Services Agency

Experience & Service Design
Chris Robinette, VP Advanced Design, Dell Experience Design Group
Steven Umbach, President, Umbach Consulting Group
Paul Wylde, CEO/CD, paulwylde

Graphic & Print Design Team
Leslie Becker, Professor of Graphic Design, California College of the Arts
Erik Schmitt, Partner, Studio 1500SF
Alejandro Chavetta, Creative Director, Astro Studios

Digital Design
John Bell, Principal, JohnBell Studio
Drew Takahashi, Principal, Funjacket Enterprises


Concept Design (Including MAKR & PROTO Design)
Eisuke Tachikawa, Founder, NOSIGNER
Chajoong Kim, Track Chair, User Experience, Associate Professor, UNIST
Dr. Jesvin Yeo, Assistant Dean, Graphic Design, Designing Cultures Studio, Nanyang Technological University
Hari Nair,  Professor, Design Management,  Savannah College of Art & Design
Lawrence Chu, Principal, Lawrence Chu Design
Guilherme Pacher, Consumer Insights specialist at Whirlpool China