2017 Jurors

November 15, 2016 Jurors

Spark is honored to present a jury of very talented judges for our 11th competition. Every year each jury category
is refreshed and new, gathered with the help of our Jury Chairs, Advisers and Community members.
The Jurors come from across the spectrum of design disciplines, media, educators, engineering and experts.

Spark utilizes a large, multidisciplinary jury, composed of specialist teams drawn from the disciplines being
judged on a given day.

The 2017 Spark jurors will apply the Spark Mission and Criteria and bring the highest standards to the
task of selecting Sparkaward Winners.

Jurors are being actively recruited. To date the Bench includes:

Product Design Team
Jury Mentor, Mike Nuttall, IDEO Founder and Spark Senior Adviser
Gerald Furbenshaw, Co-Founder, LUNAR
Karen Hofmann, Chair, Product Design, ArtCenter College
Jonah Becker, VP Design, Fitbit
Pip Tompkin, CEO, Pip Tompkin Design
Treasure Hinds, Co-Founder, Anvil Studios
Brian Matt, Founder & Principal Director, Altitude Accenture
Angela Yeh, Founder & Chief Talent Strategist, Yeh Ideology

Health & Medical Design Team
Philip Thompson, Senior Director of Product Design, Intuitive Surgical
Gadi Amit, President/Principal Designer, NEWDEALDESIGN
Eskild Hansen, CEO, Eskild Hansen Design Studios
Matt Gill, Lead Designer, Ximedica

Communication Design Team
Cameron Imani, Creative Director, Landor

Dreamer Design Team (Concept, MAKR & PROTO Design)
KwanMyoung Kim, Dean, Graduate Industrial Design, UNIST
An Luo, President, Asia Pacific, TEAMS Design Consulting
Doyoung Kim, Founder, Designsori

Transport Design Team
Neil Brooker, Global Director, BMW Designworks
Dave Muyres, Executive Director, Global Product Innovation, Yanfeng Automotive Interiors
Hugo Eccles, Design Director, United Motorcycles
Yunwoo Jeong, Professor of Design & Engineering, Ulsan National Institute Graduate School of CDE

Experience Design Team
John Guenther, Professor Design Strategies, San Jose State State University; & Former Design Director, Hewlett-Packard
Margarete Wies, Head of Holistic User Experience, Volkswagen AG
Kraig Kessel, Co-Founder, Kraido Branding
Professor Ken Nah, Dean, Hongik University Intl Design School for Advanced Studies

WEAR Design Team
Jury Mentor, Amy Williams, Principal, Amelia Williams Studio
Jochen Backs, Design Director, Camelback