Spark Juries

Each year Spark is honored to present a new, fresh group of very talented judges. Every bench of jurors is gathered with the help of our Jury Chairs & Mentors, Advisers, Community members and design academics. The Jurors come from across the spectrum of design disciplines, media, educators and experts.

2017 Spark Award Jurors

December 3 in Hong Kong
The Winter Jury Bench included the Spark Dreamer Design Team: Concept, MAKR & PROTO Design

KwanMyoung Kim, Dean, Graduate Industrial Design, UNIST
Luo An, President, Asia Pacific, TEAMS Design Consulting
Doyoung Kim, Founder, Designsori
Zhou Wenjun, Founder & Design Director, 524 Studio
Peter Boeckel, Design Manager, Steelcase Asia Pacific
Angie Kim, Principal, AYK
Fredric Gooris, Principal Designer, Studio Gooris
David Frank, Senior Associate, Design Director, Gensler
Julia Chiu, Professor, Musashino Art University, Past President, International Council of Design

November 14 & 15 in San Francisco
The Fall Jury Bench included:

Product Design Team
Jury Mentor, Mike Nuttall, IDEO Founder and Spark Senior Adviser
Gerard Furbenshaw, Co-Founder, LUNAR
Karen Hofmann, Chair, Product Design, ArtCenter College
Jonah Becker, VP Design, Fitbit
Brian Matt, Founder & Principal Director, Altitude Accenture
Treasure Hinds, Co-Founder, Anvil Studios
Angela Yeh, Founder & Chief Talent Strategist, Yeh Ideology
Eskild Hansen, CEO, Eskild Hansen Design Studios

Health & Medical Design Team
Mark Palmer, Manager of Industrial Design Systems & Vision, Intuitive Surgical
Matt Gill, Senior Industrial Designer Designer, Ximedica
Bart Massee, Senior Manager & CD, Advanced Design Strategy, Global HP

Communication Design Team Leader
Cameron Imani, Creative Director, Landor

Social Cause Design Leader
Alexandra Jayeun Lee, Creative Director, Civic Design Lab, City of Oakland

Transport Design Team
Dave Muyres, Executive Director, Global Product Innovation, Yanfeng Automotive Interiors
Hugo Eccles, Design Director, United Motorcycles
Yunwoo Jeong, Professor of Design & Engineering, Ulsan National Institute Graduate School of CDE

Spaces Design Team
Tomas Ancona, Principal, Ancona+Associates
Alison Carr, Senior Retail Designer, Gensler

Experience Design Team
John Guenther, Professor Design Strategies, San Jose State State University; & Former Design Director, Hewlett-Packard
Kraig Kessel, Co-Founder, Kraido Branding
Will Danner, Experience Designer, UberEats

WEAR Design Team
Jury Mentor, Amy Williams, Principal, Amelia Williams Studio
Jochen Backs, Principal Industrial Designer, Camelbak
Erica Negron, Industrial Designer, Umbach Consulting Group

June 27 in San Francisco
Spring Concept & Product Design

Jury Mentor, Mike Nuttall, IDEO Founder and Spark Senior Adviser
Daniel Hundt, AVP Design, HTC
KwanMyung Kim, Dean, Graduate School of Creative Design Engineering, UNIST
Maarten Dinger, Senior Director of Design, Element Science
Lance Hussey, Creative Director, RKS
Phil Rose, Co-Founder, Alquemy Design
Charlie Cronk, Co-Founder, KITSBOW MTB Wear