Galleries

Back to: Galleries // 2013 Spark:Space // UC San Diego - Medical Education and Telemedicine Building

<< Previous Entry    Next Entry >>

UC San Diego - Medical Education and Telemedicine Building

Winner - Bronze

Competition: Spark:Space
Designer: Mr. Brian Lee - Design Partner
Design Type: Buildings
Company / Organization / School: Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
Website: http://www.som.com
Team Members: ARCHITECT(S) Brian Lee, FAIA, LEED AP Design Partner Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP 1 Front Street, Suite 2400, San Francisco, CA 94111 415-981-1555 brian.lee@som.com GENERAL CONTRACTOR Scott Kube Senior Project Manager Swinerton Incorporated 17140 Bernardo Center Drive, Site 216, San Diego, CA 92128 858-622-4040 skube@swinerton.com INTERIORS Tamara Dinsmore Associate Director Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP 1 Front Street, Suite 2400, San Francisco, CA 94111 415-981-1555 tamara.dinsmore@som.com LANDSCAPE James Burnett, ASLA Principal The Office of James Burnett 550 Lomas Santa Fe, Suite A, Solana Beach, CA 92075 858-793-6970 jburnett@ojb.com CIVIL ENGINEER William Templeton, PE Principal Burkett and Wong Engineers 3434 Fourth Avenue, San Diego, CA 92103 619-299-5550 wtempleton@burkett-wong.com STRUCTURAL Mark Sarkisian, PE, SE, LEED AP Seismic and Structural Engineering Director Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP 1 Front Street, Suite 2400, San Francisco, CA 94111 415-981-1555 mark.sarkisian@som.com MECHANICAL Steve Taylor, PE Principal Taylor Engineering, LLP 1080 Marina Village Parkway, Suite 501, Alameda, CA 94501 510-749-9135 staylor@taylor-engineering.com ELECTRICAL Michael Wall, PE Principal Michael Wall Engineering 4115 Sorrento Valley Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92121 858-638-0600 mwall@mwalleng.com LIGHTING Patrick Quigley Principal Patrick B. Quigley & Associates, Inc. 2340 Plaza Del Amo, Suite 125, Torrance, CA 90501 310-533-6064 patrick@pbqa.com ACOUSTICS Mahabir Atwal Principal VSA and Associates 12525 Lambert Road, Whittier, CA 90606 562-698-2468 matwal@vsaassociates.com SECURITY Thomas Shen Principal Shen Milsom & Wilke, Inc. 33 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 415-391-7610 tshen@sf.smwinc.com WATERPROOFING Eugene Buick Principal Allana+Buick+Bers 990 Commercial Street, Palo Alto, CA 94303 650-543-5648 ebuick@abbae.com PHOTOGRAPHY Lawrence Anderson Photographer Lawrence Anderson Photography, Inc. 12405 Venice Boulevard, Suite 210, Los Angeles, CA 90066 310-391-1199 lawrence@lawrenceanderson.net PHOTOGRAPHY Cesar Rubio, Cesar Rubio Photography, 1403 Shotwell Street, San Francisco, CA 94110, 415-550-6369, cr@cesarrubio.com

Situated at the intersection of two major pedestrian routes, the 88,000 square-feet, state-of-the-art Medical Education and Telemedicine Building serves as a welcoming gateway and meeting place for the School of Medicine campus. It is designed to respond to projected growth in enrollment and profound changes in the methodologies of medical education. The building is organized around a central, open-air courtyard that encourages the medical school community to interact and exchange ideas. Classrooms and offices are grouped into “learning communities” that promote collaboration between students and faculty. Simulation hospital suites, surgery labs, clinical skills suites, divisible testing and training rooms and a multi-purpose telemedicine teaching auditorium promote flexibility and offer diverse learning environments. The Center for the Future of Surgery and the Simulation Training Center brings students and practicing physicians together for hands-on experience using the latest techniques. The LEED® Gold certified building maximizes daylight, reduces water use, optimizes energy performance, and uses reclaimed and low-emitting materials. The cantilevered glass sunscreen supplements the high performance curtain wall glazing and provides a shimmering, inviting entry. A rich palette of low-maintenance materials including exposed concrete, glass, recycled teak and colored composite panels sets the building naturally within the campus landscape.